Codes & Standards

Building codes and standards affect much of the ready mixed concrete construction in the United States. The purpose of any building code is to provide a safe building for all occupants, owners and emergency responders. Building codes are intended to provide a prescriptive requirement for building construction and are enforced at the local or state governmental level. Individual state and local governments are free to adopt their own codes; however, most adopt model building codes that are developed and maintained by the International Code Council (ICC). The ICC publishes the International Building Code (IBC, International Residential Code (IRC), International Energy Conservation Code, among others.

The model building codes reference several industry standards, many of which are relevant to the ready-mixed concrete industry. These standards provide requirements and guidance on various areas including but not limited to sustainability, fire safety, construction methods, and assembly installation.

Through participation on codes and standards committees and work with associated organizations, NRMCAʼs Codes and Standards programs helps to develop codes and standards that are most responsive to the issues affecting our industry. NRMCA professionals participate and engage in the following technical committees. The Associationʼs programs also are aimed at increasing the ready mixed concrete industryʼs awareness of the codes and standards development process.

Committee Participation


  • 132 – Responsibilities in Concrete Construction
  • 201 – Durability
  • 216 – Fire Resistance and Fire Protection of Structures
  • 232 – Fly Ash
  • 301 – Specifications for Structural Concrete
  • 318 – Building Code for Structural Concrete
  • 325 – Concrete Pavements
  • 329 – Performance Criteria for Ready Mixed Concrete
  • 330 – Parking Lots
  • 332 – Residential Concrete
  • 522 – Pervious Concrete
  • 560 – Design and Construction with Insulating Concrete Forms


  • ASCE 7 – Minimum Design Loads and Associated Criteria for Buildings and Other Structures
  • ASCE 41 – Seismic Rehabilitation of Existing Buildings
  • ASCE 59 – Blast Protection of Buildings


  • 90.1 – Energy Standard for Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings
  • 189.1 – Standard for the Design of High-Performance, Green Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings


  • E05 – Fire Standards
  • E60 – Sustainability

CSC Concrete Sustainability Council


  • IBC International Building Code
  • International Fire Code
  • IRC International Residential Code
  • IECC International Energy Conservation Code
  • IWUIC International Wildland Urban Interface Code
  • ICC600 Standard for Residential Construction in High-Wind Regions 
  • IgCC International Green Construction Code (ASHRAE 189.1)


  • TC92 Fire Safety


  • BLD-BLC Building Construction
  • BLD-FIR/ SAF-FIRE Fire Protection Features
  • BLD-RES/ SAF-RES Residential Occupancies
  • BLD-SCM Structures, Construction, and Materials
  • COD-AAA Construction and Demolition
  • FIZ-AAA Fire Tests
  • WFM-AAA Wildland Fire Management
  • WRP-AAA Wildland and Rural Fire Protection

PCA 100

State and Local Government Affairs

NRMCA encourages the adoption of statewide legislation that benefits the built environment to make it more durable, resilient, and sustainable. NRMCA can assist in the adoption of statewide or local legislation by providing example model language.


For information regarding this program and code activities, contact Shamim Rashid-Sumar.

Research Reports

NRMCA’ Codes and Standards team manages a number of research projects and studies to support its advocacy efforts. The following includes current completed reports and summaries of these studies in progress.


September 29 - October 3, 2022