Gaynor Award

The Richard D. Gaynor Award

For Excellence in Research, Engineering & Standards

Congratulation Jerry S. Haught P.E.
Consulting Engineer
2020 Gaynor Award Recipient

Richard D. Gaynor, shown at right, retired as executive vice president of the National Ready Mixed Concrete Association (NRMCA) and the National Aggregates Association (NAA) in 1996 after more than 40 years of service with the associations. Dick’s knowledge, experience and attention to detail on technical issues related to concrete was well recognized. In 1997, the NRMCA Research, Engineering and Standards (RES) Committee established the Richard D. Gaynor Award in honor of Mr. Gaynor.

Gaynor Awards recipients are selected for their lifetime contribution to the ready mixed industry in the technical field. Nominees can be a former or present member of the NRMCA Research, Engineering and Standards Committee who has shown dedication and progressed the Agenda of the Committee. Nominees can also be anyone in the concrete industry who has made strides to advance engineering and research issues affecting the industry. Nominees for this award can be former or present members of the NRMCA RES Committee, other members involved in NRMCA or other concrete-related technical societies, staff members and can be active, retired or deceased. The Award will be presented annually at the prerogative of the NRMCA RES Committee, typically at the NRMCA Annual Convention. The RES Committee can choose to select more than one recipient in any year.

The award is in the form of a pyramid, symbolizing engineering excellence. The inscription reads:

The Richard D. Gaynor Award 
For Personal Dedication, Devotion, and Significant Contributions 
To NRMCA’s Research, Engineering, & Standards Program

Nominations for the Richard D. Gaynor Award will be solicited from the NRMCA Research, Engineering and Standards Committee or from any member of the industry. The nominating committee is composed of past recipients of the Gaynor award who will review the nominees and provide their recommendation to the RES Committee for a vote of the committee.

For more information or to submit nominations, please contact Colin Lobo, NRMCA senior vice president of engineering, at 703-706-4860.

Past Recipients of the Richard D. Gaynor Award

  • 2019 Frank Kozeliski Consulting Materials Engineer
  • 2018 Gene Daniel Consulting Engineer
  • 2017 Thomas H. Adams Executive Director, American Coal Ash Association
  • 2016 Dr. Ken Hover Professor, Cornell University
  • 2015 Nicholas J. Carino Concrete Technology Consultant
  • 2014 Gary Mullings NRMCA
  • 2013 Ken Rear Retired Vice President Research, Heidelberg Technology Center
  • 2012 Colin Lobo NRMCA
  • 2011 Ken Day Retired, Concrete Advice, Pty. Ltd., Melbourne, Australia
  • 2011 Edwin R. Dunstan ERD Consultants, LLC
  • 2010 Lawrence R. Roberts Roberts Consulting Group, LLC
  • 2009 James Cook Tarmac Titan America
  • 2008 Ward Malisch ASCC
  • 2007 Anthony E. Fiorato CTL Group
  • 2006 Jon Mullarky Consultant, FHWA
  • 2005 C. Patrick McFarlane Oldcastle Materials
  • 2004 Norm Nelson Lyman Richey Corporation
  • 2003 Andrew W. Young Lafarge NA
  • 2002 T. Michael Kaney Cemex USA
  • 2001 Richard C. Meininger Consultant, FHWA
  • 2000 Earl F. Callison, Jr. Walt Keeler Company
  • 1999 Larry Asel Concrete Company of Springfield
  • 1998 Fred F. Bartel Tews Lime & Cement Company
  • 1998 Melvin W. Flanagan Walt Flanagan & Company
  • 1998 Herbert L. Harger Con Rock Company
  • 1998 Edward L. Howard RMC Lonestar
  • 1998 Donald J. Peters Genstar Stone Products Company
  • 1998 Ralph Vencill Materials Service Corporation

NRMCA's ConcreteWorks, October 7 - 8, 2020

Fly Ash Harvesting – Challenges & Solutions... Hear Benjamin Gallagher (EPRI) & Tom Adams (ACAA) highlight various issues involved in ensuring that fly ash harvesting from existing landfills becomes commonplace.

Register Here!

National Mixer Driver Appreciation Week

October 5 - 9, 2020


Global Concrete Summit, November 30 - December 10, 2020

40% discount: Use coupon code NRMCA40 at check out!

Conference Website