Carpenter Award

Joseph E. Carpenter Award

Congratulations Dale Kotzea
2023 Recipient of NRMCA’s Joseph E. Carpenter Award

Joseph E. Carpenter of Rinker Materials, West Palm Beach, Florida, was instrumental in the formation and early operation of the NRMCA Committee on Maintenance. Shortly after his untimely passing in 1988, the OES Committee decided to honor Mr. Carpenter by instituting the Joseph E. Carpenter Award for Outstanding Contributions to the OES Committee.

Carpenter Award recipients are singled out for their outstanding lifetime contribution to the ready mixed concrete industry in the field of operations, safety or environmental. Nominees may be ready mixed concrete company employees, manufacturers or suppliers to the industry, or association staff members. They can be active, retired, or deceased. Award recipients must be members of NRMCA in good standing.

Nominations for the Carpenter Award are solicited annually from the members of the Operations, Environmental and Safety Committee; however, awards are only given when deemed appropriate by the Carpenter Award Committee. The Carpenter Award Committee is made up of previous winners of the Carpenter Award.

For more information, contact Gary Mullings, 703-706-4861.

Past Carpenter Award Winners

“Hall of Fame Class”

  • Keith Cates 2022
  • Eileen Dickson 2021
  • Jeff L. Davis 2020
  • Denise Corrales 2019
  • John Richardson 2018
  • Jeffrey Hinkle 2017
  • Rickie Grooms 2016
  • Greg Vickers 2015
  • Terry Jones 2014
  • Tom Harris 2013
  • Charles Schumacher 2012
  • John Carew 2011


  • Tim Becken
  • Terry Green
  • Tom Pittman
  • Mike Taylor
  • Gary Mullings (2009)
  • George Roberts (2008)
  • Jim Wagner (2007)
  • James Woody (2006)
  • Tommy Stephens (2005)
  • Larry Roach & Douglas Ruhlin (2004)
  • Scott Hammersley (2003)
  • Stephen Thomas (2002)
  • Rich Deboer (2001)
  • Warren Goehringer (2000)
  • William J. O’Connell & Monte E. Stewart (1999)
  • Richard D. Anderson (1998)
  • Richard D. Gaynor (1997)
  • Robert G. Tews (1996)
  • Richard K. Ahern (1994)
  • James A. Zurbrigen (1992)
  • Marshall E. “Doc” Rinker (1990)

Ready to move your career up a gear?

Check Out NRMCA's New Deliver Your Future Program

Click here!