Safety Contest

NRMCA Safety Contest

Click here for the 2023 Safety Contest application form (will download .xls file to your computer) due date is Friday, April 7, 2023.

The Safety Contest has for years been a safety performance and incentive/award program aimed to foster safe practices at ready mixed concrete plants across the nation. Prior to 1993, NRMCA annually sponsored a safety contest that gathered industry accident data and recognized member companies that had commendable safety records. The original contest, based on company-wide production criteria, made it difficult for large, multi-plant ready mixed producers with an outstanding safety record to be recognized. In 1996, the Safety Task Group of NRMCA’s Operations, Environment and Safety Committee redesigned the contest to its current form. Over the past few years, the program has grown to become NRMCA’s most popular award recognition program.

In November 2008, the Safety Task Group redesigned the form and included the same information found on the Safety Benchmarking Form. This way plants only had to submit data one time per year and all on one form. Concrete Producer magazine co-sponsors the NRMCA Safety Contest.

The Safety Contest is a per-plant contest open to all facilities operated by NRMCA member companies in good standing. Non-NRMCA member companies may also participate for $50/per plant. Companies with more than one division were encouraged to distribute entry blanks to individuals responsible for keeping safety records at each plant location.

For more information contact Gary Mullings 703-706-4861.

The data submitted are kept strictly confidential by the NRMCA. After verification of all data entry and calculations, NRMCA destroys the entry forms and specific company information.

Basis for Winning Entries
The most recent OSHA Incident Rate for the Ready Mixed Concrete Industry. The plants’ incident rate will determine their level of “Excellence in Safety” Achievement. The level of achievement is based on the facilities’ incident rate as it compares to the OSHA Incident Rate.

Plant Incident Rate Level of Achievement
Plant Incident Rate = 0Gold
Plant Incident Rate >.01 but < 1/2 OSHA Incident RateSilver
Plant Incident Rate >1/2 but < Total OSHA Incident RateBronze
Plant Incident Rate is greater than OSHA Incident RateDoes not qualify

Practical example in which 5.5 is the latest incident rate for the RMC industry:

Plant Incident Rate Level of Achievement
Plant Incident Rate = 0Gold
Plant Incident Rate = 2Silver
Plant Incident Rate = 4Bronze
Plant Incident Rate = 5.5Bronze
Plant Incident Rate = 5.51Does not qualify

(This is just an example; the OSHA Incident Rate is based on industry injuries for a given year.)


A certificate of “Excellence in Safety” for the level of achievement is awarded to individual plants.